Wait, I Have A Blog?

So that was, what, one week? It must be a new record.

I have a bad habit of starting things and never finishing them. I see something that motivates me to begin a big project and for a few days it is all I can think about. My energy is spent solely on that one thing, and it becomes a sort of obsession. That was how it was with this blog. For weeks I was completely fixated on documenting my life. My world transformed into a landscape of blog ideas. Everything I set my eye on was a potential post. I was so set on starting this blog that, when I finally did take the plunge, it felt like all the energy I had put into it was washed away with that first click of the Publish button. It wasn’t immediate; the lustre rubbed off slowly. By the second post, it was almost all gone. That, combined with the time-consuming phenomenon of living, left very little desire to keep writing.

Of course, I never intended to stop. When a week had passed since my last post, and I felt that it was about time for another, I did the all too familiar self-promise, where I told myself that’s okay, I’ll do it tomorrow. Then tomorrow turned into a week, which turned into a month, which somehow transformed into two months, which then turned into today.

Actually, I’m only writing this because I got distracted from some schoolwork that I should be doing. But why is this? I know I’m not the only person who starts something with the full intention of following through with it, sees something shiny and new, and promptly abandons the first project. Self-proclaimed experts might assign this short-attention-span routine to my generation, but  I don’t think it is confined to just the people born between this year and that year. Moreover, I also don’t think that it should be seen as a defining characteristic of a generation. It’s a defining characteristic of the world we live in now. The technology of today didn’t exist 50 years ago, and so the opportunities facing us now weren’t available to our grandparents. We have so many choices and so many things we want to do, that it’s easy to get distracted. I’m not saying this is necessarily good or bad, it’s just reality.

However, I digress (as per usual). I’m writing this post as a(nother) promise to myself that I will actually try to keep up with this blog. My life isn’t actually all that interesting though, and my ideas aren’t exactly world-shattering, but I’ll try anyway. Who knows how far I’ll get, but hopefully it will be more than a week.

 

Leave a Reply

