In anticipation of summer, I’m going through the usual routine of imagining how I’ll spend those endless hours lounging in the sun. For me, a big chunk of that time will (hopefully) be spent reading. I usually don’t set lists of what books I want to read in the near future because it changes with my mood. However, summer is when I do most of my reading during the year, so I thought I’d make a list of a few books that I want to get to in the next few months since I’ll have a lot of time.

6334

This book has been on my TBR for years and I am determined that it will be gone in the next few months. I have a feeling that I’m going to love this book about a seemingly idyllic future society which is actually horrible. Sounds fairly true to life to me.

The-Iliad-The-Odyssey-Hardcover-P9781607102120

I’ve always been fascinated by ancient civilizations and how they’re at once so foreign yet also familiar. With that said, what better way to spend my summer than reading about the adventures of one of ancient Greece’s most famous heroes?

saga-volume-1-cover

This will probably be the first checked off my list because I just read the first volume and wow was it amazing. I don’t understand how I’ve been able to restrain myself from rushing to the library and borrowing the rest. (Actually, I do know the reason and that reason was exams.)

51TEXAZBJSL

I recently watched this video by MercysBookishMusings in which she gives an absolutely raving review of this book. Needless to say, it went right to the top of my TBR shelf and I can’t wait to get to it this summer.

north-and-south1

I have often heard North and South being compared to Pride and Prejudice, and almost always as a better version of the latter. I love Pride and Prejudice, people who love Pride and Prejudice love North and South, see where I’m going here?

americanah

I have heard so much praise of Adichie, and especially of this book, that I really must read it soon. From this TED Talk that I recently watched of her, she seems like an amazing woman with a powerful way with words, and I can only imagine what her book will be like.

9780241950449

The only book by Salinger that I’ve read so far is (of course) The Catcher in the Rye, and I adored it. I read that a few years ago and shockingly I haven’t picked up any of his other works. I think it’s about time that I remedy that. Franny and Zooey seems to be the second most famous of his works, so I think I’ll pick this one up first.

92f583bc0107cba1c4a0e2e2ee73dbd8

Continuing on the theme of short stories (which, by the way, I think are perfect summer reading material, especially for travel), I think it’s time to represent Canada a little bit. Being the proud Canadian that I am, it’s shameful that I haven’t read much Canadian literature at all. I recently visited the bookstore and Munro and her husband own, so I feel like it’s necessary for me to read her books ASAP.

9780143107569 Game_of_thrones

I usually like to read one huge book over the summer, and I’m in the middle of deciding whether this summer will be dedicated to Les Misérables or A Game of ThronesLes Mis has been on my TBR for a millennium, but I’ve been slowly watching Game of Thrones and I’m itching to follow along with the books. It’s a dilemma. Best case scenario: I can read both during the summer. Stay optimistic, right?

So here are the books that I’m planning to read this summer. Who know, I may get to none of them and spend the entire summer lazying about on the internet. Hopefully that won’t be the case and I’ll read at least one of these books. I’ll do an update in September (unless I’m too ashamed).

Leave a Reply

